Eurozone crisis live: Mario Monti holds crunch talks with Italian unions

Italy’s prime minister will hold showdown negotiations with unions today, as Greek seaman continue their own strike action

8.10am: Today’s agenda includes two pieces of UK economic data, and an appearance by US treasury secretary Tim Geithner this afternoon to doscuss “the state of the international financial system”.

UK inflation data for February: 9.30am GMT
UK CBI industrial trends for March: 11am GMT
US Treasury secretary Tim Geithner testifies to the House Financial Services committee: 2pm GMT / 10am EST
Mario Monti meets with Italian union leaders: from 2.30pm GMT / 3.30pm CET

In the debt markets, Greece will action 13-week bills, Spain will sell 12 and 18-month bonds, and Italy will auction four-year bonds.

8.00am: Good morning, and welcome to our rolling coverage of the eurozone debt crisis.

Europe’s two technocratic prime ministers will be busy today. In Rome, Mario Monti is holding crunch talks with unions over his proposals to reform Italy’s economy.

Meanwhile, Greece is moving closer to an election footing as Lucas Papademos’s government completes its last few tasks. That list includes the selection of a new finance minister, following Evangelos Venizelos’s resignation yesterday.

Greece is also gripped by the strike action that the country’s seamen began yesterday – ministers are due to hold talks with their union in an attempt to end the disruption.

We’re also expecting protests outside the Athens parliament this evening as the final pieces of legislation covering its new economic programme are approved by MPs.

And in the UK, the latest inflation data will be closely watched ahead of tomorrow’s Budget.


guardian.co.uk © 2012 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved. | Use of this content is subject to our Terms & Conditions | More Feeds