European Union Signs Brexit Withdrawal Agreement

European Union Signs Brexit Withdrawal Agreement

The Brexit Withdrawal Agreement has been signed on behalf of the United Kingdom and the European Union. Boris Johnson, the Prime Minister, and Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, with Charles Michel, President of the European Commission, put their signatures to the document on 24 January in Downing Street, London, and in the Europa Building, Brussels respectively.

Boris Johnson said:


The signing of the Withdrawal Agreement is a fantastic moment, which finally delivers the result of the 2016 referendum and brings to an end far too many years of argument and division.

We can now move forward as one country – with a Government focused upon delivering better public services, greater opportunity and unleashing the potential of every corner of our brilliant United Kingdom, while building a strong new relationship with the EU as friends and sovereign equals.


Charles Michel said:


“Things will inevitably change, but our friendship will remain. We start a new chapter as partners and allies. I look forward to writing this story together.”


The United Kingdom will leave the European Union on Friday, 31 January 2020.