Government Database

Government Database


UK Parliament

List of MPs



Central Government

Cabinet Office

Jobcentre Plus Offices


Local Government Database

Click on the link to visit the listing of UK local councils.


Central Government Departments

Many of the Government departments below are just as well known by their acronyms as by their full names. Acronyms have therefore been included below alongside official department names.

Attorney General’s Office
Cabinet Office
Charity Commission
Competition and Markets Authority
Crown Prosecution Service
Department for Business Innovation and Skills
Department for Communities and Local Government
Department for Culture Media and Sport (DCMS)
Department for Education (DfE)
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
Department for International Development (DfID)
Department for Transport (DfT)
Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC)
Department of Health (DOH)
Food Standards Agency (FSA)
Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO)
Forestry Commission
Government Actuary’s Department (GAD)
Government Legal Department (GLD)
HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC)
HM Treasury (HMT)
Home Office
Land Registry
Ministry of Defence (MOD)
Ministry of Justice (MOJ)
National Archives
National Crime Agency (NCA)
National Savings and Investments (NS&I)
Northern Ireland Office (NIO)
Office of Rail and Road (ORR)
Office of the Advocate General for Scotland
Office of the Leader of the House of Commons
Office of the Leader of the House of Lords
Office of Gas and Electricity Markets (Ofgem)
Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual)
Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills (Ofsted)
Ordnance Survey (OS)
Prime Minister’s Office
Scotland Office
Serious Fraud Office (SFO)
Supreme Court of the United Kingdom
UK Export Finance
UK Statistics Authority
UK Trade and Investment (UKTI)
Wales Office
Water Services Regulation Authority (Ofwat)