Wrexham Officially Became a City on 1 September 2022

Wrexham now becomes the seventh city in Wales joining Cardiff, Swansea, Newport, Bangor, St Davids and St Asaph.

Wrexham becomes Wales’s seventh city

Wrexham officially became a city on Thursday 1 September after a competition which was part of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations.